ExpressionEngine CMS
Open, Free, Amazing

Thread

This is an archived forum and the content is probably no longer relevant, but is provided here for posterity.

The active forums are here.

Domain+Sub Domain, professional web presence - which licence?

March 08, 2012 12:34pm

Subscribe [2]
  • #1 / Mar 08, 2012 12:34pm

Rave

5 posts

Hi,

I am a sole trader and have a professional web presence hosted with streamline.net.

I have a standard website, and a log-in extranet for clients on a sub domain:
    -mydomain.com
    -extranet.mydomain.com

If I buy a licence for EE, will I need to get a Commercial Licence with Multiple Site Manager?  Or, could I buy x2 Freelancer licences?  Or is it something else I would need?

I assume I would need to buy a second hosting package with Streamline, but thought I would ask about your side first.

Thanks in advance,
    Rave

• #2 / Mar 08, 2012 2:41pm

Shane Eckert

7174 posts

Hello Rave,

Welcome to the forums!

You will need a license for each live website. If your domain is the only website that is live, then just one license would work. What is running behind the login for your extranet? It is just a login to access an internal network?

It sounds like you just need one commercial license.

Just for reference. You only need MSM if you want to administrate several ExpressionEngine website, in that case each ExpressionEngine website would need it’s own license.

Also, each account is only allowed one freelancer license.

Does that help? Please let me know if you have any questions. I am here to help you figure out how ExpressionEngine can work for you.

Cheers,

• #3 / Mar 09, 2012 5:44am

Rave

5 posts

Thanks for the response Shane.

You will need a license for each live website. If your domain is the only website that is live, then just one license would work. What is running behind the login for your extranet? It is just a login to access an internal network?