EllisLab text mark
Advanced Search
2 of 2

Okay, seriously, what are the spam-fighting options for the discussion forum module???
Posted: 25 March 2009 02:55 PM   [ # 19 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
211 posts

thanks derek. alas, I’m not an extension developer…

dru, wanna put some money in the pot for a developer to make that extension?

I’d say one good feature of such an extension would be to allow “auto-approve”
(so, the admin/moderator gets an email with the forum post, and two links – one to “approve this post” and one to “approve all future posts from this user”)

anyone?

Posted: 25 March 2009 02:59 PM   [ # 20 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
409 posts

How far can this be taken?

I can see some power here. What if all members who have less than, say, 5 approved posts, are in moderation. But once you have 5 approved posts, your posts are just freely posted without moderation? That would probably eliminate a ton of the forum spam, used in conunction with Low NoSpam smile Is that extensionable??

Signature 

Love gadgets, technology, and pop culture? Visit us at Gear Live: http://www.gearlive.com

Posted: 25 March 2009 03:02 PM   [ # 21 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
211 posts

not sure if it’s appropriate to mention here but I’d be willing to pay a developer decently to come up with this extension (with at least with basic functionality such as auto-approve after 5 posts). this would cut down my time to moderate and time is money, as they say.

Posted: 25 March 2009 03:03 PM   [ # 22 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
6512 posts

Seems like I also recall an extension that didn’t accept submissions from anyone within 24 hours of registering.  A bit heavy handed, but depending on your community, it’s another possibility.

Signature 

Posted: 25 March 2009 03:07 PM   [ # 23 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
2315 posts
pirco - 25 March 2009 06:55 PM

I’d say one good feature of such an extension would be to allow “auto-approve”