EllisLab text mark
Advanced Search
     
Cannot use output buffering in output buffering display handlers
Posted: 06 July 2008 12:59 PM
Joined: 2008-05-27
46 posts

Fatal error: ob_start() [ref.outcontrol]: Cannot use output buffering in output buffering display handlers in C:\HTTPSERVER\wwwroot\bewoop\system\libraries\Exceptions.php on line 160

when i am trying to use

iconv_set_encoding("internal_encoding""UTF-8");
iconv_set_encoding("output_encoding""ISO-8859-2");
ob_start("ob_iconv_handler"); // start output buffering 

how to fix that?

 
Posted: 08 August 2008 07:50 PM   [ # 1 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Joined: 2008-08-05
4 posts

anybody?

 
Posted: 13 October 2008 05:26 AM   [ # 2 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Joined: 2008-10-07
1 posts

issue with ob_gzhandler.  disabling compresison in config.php and enabling (or not) global compression in php.ini seems to fix the problem.  I don’t exactly know what I’m talking about, but it seems to fix the problem at least.

 
Posted: 06 February 2009 01:52 PM   [ # 3 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Joined: 2007-11-09
181 posts

Yes, I’ve just had this same problem.  If you have;

$config[‘compress_output’] = TRUE;

and try to do a:

$this->output->enable_profiler(TRUE);
 
$posted $this->input->post('username');
 print 
$posted

following a form, it seems to display this error.

 
Posted: 29 May 2009 04:01 PM   [ # 4 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Avatar
Joined: 2009-05-05
1 posts

This fix also appears to work when creating an XML-RPC server.

Leaving compression on generates the error after the XML response, which breaks your logic…

 
Posted: 11 January 2010 01:44 AM   [ # 5 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Joined: 2009-12-16
4 posts

hi i got solution from this page http://ellislab.com/forums/viewthread/105257/, now working fine for me

 
Posted: 08 May 2010 03:13 PM   [ # 6 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Joined: 2008-01-05
7 posts

You can’t echo or print any values if you use compression. You could use the Output Class instead (set_output method).

 
Posted: 10 June 2011 03:42 PM   [ # 7 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Joined: 2011-02-22
7 posts

I have this same problem, however I don’t have compression turned on for CI.  Here’s my error:

Fatal error: ob_start() [ref.outcontrol]: Cannot use output buffering in output buffering display handlers in /Users/fubar/Sites/_machine_localhost/admin/system/core/Exceptions.php on line 166

My view file creates some functions that output a lot of HTML like this:

<?php
function doReport(){
  
...
  ...
?>
<p>Output some html</p>
<?php
  
...
  ...
}//end function doReport
?>
<p>more html</p
 
Posted: 22 September 2011 09:55 PM   [ # 8 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Joined: 2009-02-27
16 posts

Brian, did you find a solution to this problem?  I’m currently encountering the same error, when trying to use Brian Cray’s php a/b tester.

 
Posted: 23 September 2011 10:15 AM   [ # 9 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Joined: 2011-02-22
7 posts

I got my problem fixed, however it wasn’t any kind of setting or config that was an easy on / off switch.  It must have been in the code (I was working on a site where someone had put all the M,V & C into the view a-la old-school php).  I think it ended up being a syntax thing, sorry I can’t help more

- brian

 
Posted: 15 November 2011 03:22 AM   [ # 10 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Joined: 2011-11-15
2 posts

Hi,
i got this fetal error im using Tidy library.

Fatal error: ob_start() [ref.outcontrol]: Cannot use output buffering in output buffering display handlers in C:\wamp\www\theusatimes.com\system\core\Exceptions.php on line 166

compression also disabled

$config[‘compress_output’] = FALSE;

what settings do i need to run tidy library with codeigniter?