We had a recent issue where our Marketing department published poorly worded content on our website and people were a bit annoyed the content was not run past our Editorial department. I jumped up and said, “Hey, our CMS can manage that” and went about implementing a new custom status, “Review”. I then configured the “Open” status to now only be accessible to the Editorial department, and “Review” and “Closed” are available to everyone.
So, the next day, someone in Marketing went to edit something, and when they saved it, it was set to “Closed”. They could have chosen “Review” from that menu, but alas, the same result. The existing content was immediately removed from the website.
Is it possible to do this in such a way that if existing content is edited, the last revision stays public on the website? Otherwise, how can you use status-based publishing to edit pre-existing content?