EllisLab text mark
Advanced Search
     
IE7 & 9 ‘jQuery’ is undefined
Posted: 08 January 2012 05:08 PM
Joined: 2009-10-14
18 posts

I believe that the ‘jQuery’ is undefined bug with IE is still occurring in EE 2.3.1 - Build: 20111017.
When trying o publish an entry which includes Wyvern v1.3.2 IE 7 and IE 9 throws the following errors:

SCRIPT5009'Object' is undefined 
jquery
.js?v=1318841208line 28 character 421

SCRIPT5009
'jQuery' is undefined 
admin
.php?S=161edbf88440b7af282587dfcb9c15ac27bd8091&D=cp&C=javascript&M=load&file=css&theme=default&v=1318841206line 1 character 2

SCRIPT5009
'jQuery' is undefined 
compressed
.jsline 1 character 2

SCRIPT5009
'$' is undefined 
admin
.php?S=161edbf88440b7af282587dfcb9c15ac27bd8091&D=cp&C=content_files_modalline 56 character 2 

As per another report In IE8 Standards Mode everything works fine. Adding <meta http-equiv=“X-UA-Compatible” content=“IE=8”> in system\expressionengine\views\_shared\header.php to force IE9 to render in IE8 Standards Mode is a quick and dirty fix to avoid the errors.

Anyone using NSM Morphine Theme you still will get the following errors in IE 7:

SCRIPT1028Expected identifierstring or number 
compressed
.jsline 11 character 628 

Removing commas from the code before the } fixes this issue:

$(opts.triggerSelector,$self),}

and

inputDeleteKey:"delete",

Is there an appropriate solution to this issue without the need to hack the core files?

This question may be related to a resolved thread. Which to be doesn’t look like it is resolved.

 
Posted: 09 January 2012 11:04 PM   [ # 1 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Avatar
Joined: 2004-03-22
12308 posts

hi Jacek,

Can you confirm if errors appear without the third party items, NSM Morphine and Wyvern installed?
If the errors are related to the add-ons alone then you will need to seek support from their authors.

 Signature 

John Henry’s Website | Follow me on Twitter

 
Posted: 10 January 2012 12:57 AM   [ # 2 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Joined: 2009-10-14
18 posts

Hi John,

Yes they do appear without any modules/extensions/plugins installed.
I’ve set up a brand new test site on my dev server with latest version of EE (v2.3.1 - Build: date 20111017) including the Agile Records sample data.
I have not modified anything after the install. Simply logged in and went Publish -> Information Pages.
The moment the publish page tries to load it throws the previously mentioned errors.

See attached screenshots.

Jacek

 
Posted: 12 January 2012 01:25 AM   [ # 3 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Avatar
Joined: 2004-03-22
12308 posts

Hi Jacek,

Thanks for the extra test. I only have Windows XP unfortunately, so don’t have a copy of IE9 so have pinged my colleagues to take a look for me. We will update this thread as soon as we hear something back.

 Signature 

John Henry’s Website | Follow me on Twitter

 
Posted: 24 April 2012 12:14 PM   [ # 4 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Joined: 2003-12-10
41 posts

I can confirm that I can see JavaScript error in IE9/Windows 7 for both 2.3.1 and 2.4.0.

I added <meta http-equiv=“X-UA-Compatible” content=“IE=8”> in system\expressionengine\views\_shared\header.php like Jacked suggested and this fixes some errors but I still get an error when logging out

MessageUnspecified error.
Line386
Char
242
Code
0
URI
admin.php?S=8b9cdd8c08601cc204196bc4e70930bf05510193&D=cp&C=javascript&M=combo_load&ui=core,widget,mouse,position,sortable,dialog&plugin=ee_focus,ee_interact.event,ee_notice,ee_txtarea,tablesorter,ee_toggle_all,ee_navigation&file=cp/global_start&effect=core&v=1331838252 

 

 
Posted: 26 April 2012 05:08 PM   [ # 5 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Joined: 2005-10-18
7343 posts

Hi the wire,

Thanks for adding your information to the mix. Since you have all the specifics, can you pleas file this in a Bug Report so the developers can see it?

Cheers,