EllisLab text mark
Advanced Search
     
Fatal Errors after initial install
Posted: 09 July 2010 07:09 PM
Avatar
Joined: 2010-04-08
82 posts

Just installed EE for the first time and I’m receiving the following error when clicking on the Publish or Edit links in the Control Pannel:

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 491520 bytes) in /home/dita/public_html/ee/eecms/cp/cp.publish.php on line 10901

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Bryan

 
Posted: 09 July 2010 07:43 PM   [ # 1 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Avatar
Joined: 2009-09-24
5506 posts

Sounds like only 8MB is allocated to PHP on your server. See this wiki entry - how to override is going to be dependent on your server setup, so let us know how it goes.

 
Posted: 09 July 2010 08:23 PM   [ # 2 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Avatar
Joined: 2010-04-08
82 posts

Hmmm,

Tried both the .htaccess and the php.ini solutions and all I’m getting is a 500 Internal Server Error now, even after removing the .htaccess file from the directory and reverting the php.ini file back to the original.

This is not occurring over the entire site however, just the directory I installed EE to. The .htaccess and php.ini files were located at the root of the site.

 
Posted: 09 July 2010 08:51 PM   [ # 3 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Avatar
Joined: 2009-09-24
5506 posts

An Internal Server Error is just that; not particularly related to EE. You may have a typo in php.ini, a rogue .htaccess elsewhere, or you’re missing an index.php file in the directory you’re trying to access.

Are you running this locally or is this hosted somewhere? If it’s hosted, have them increase your PHP memory limit to at least 64MB.

 
Posted: 09 July 2010 09:02 PM   [ # 4 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Avatar
Joined: 2010-04-08
82 posts

Alright thanks. I’ve submitted a trouble ticket with my host, upon further investigation it looks like I somehow crashed PHP on my server as all PHP pages are no longer working server wide… bummer.

 
Posted: 10 July 2010 01:54 PM   [ # 5 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Avatar
Joined: 2005-06-20
3997 posts

Hi bcrabtree,

Okay. Please let us know whether this is successfully resolved by your host.

Cheers

Greg

 Signature 

   Purple Dogfish | Member of EE Pro Network | Follow me on Twitter

 
Posted: 10 July 2010 04:50 PM   [ # 6 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Avatar
Joined: 2010-04-08
82 posts

Yes, we got everything worked out. For some reason my server did not like PHP running as SuPHP, so we had to change it to run as DSO instead.

Everything is working perfectly now.

Can’t wait to dig into this new software and explore all it’s possibilities.

Cheers,
Bryan

 
Posted: 10 July 2010 05:08 PM   [ # 7 ]   [ Rating: 0 ]
Avatar
Joined: 2002-04-29
26055 posts

Bryan, glad things are working again. Don’t hesitate to post again as needed.